Last updated: October 2, 2026 at 3:48 PM
Chhatrapati Shahu Ji Maharaj University (CSJMU), the NAAC A++ state university in Kanpur that most people still know as Kanpur University, wants 36 teachers across 18 departments, from Economics and Hindi to Mechanical Engineering and Kathak dance. Most of the openings are senior: 15 Professor and 13 Associate Professor posts, plus 8 for Assistant Professor. You apply online from 26.09.2026 to 31.10.2026 under Advertisement No. CSJMU/Gen.Admin/980/Teaching/2026 — and you also have to post a signed hard copy that reaches the university by 05.11.2026.
Quick Navigation
CSJMU Faculty Recruitment 2026 Overview
| Field | Detail |
|---|---|
| Post Name | Professor, Associate Professor, Assistant Professor |
| Organization | Chhatrapati Shahu Ji Maharaj University (CSJMU), Kanpur — formerly Kanpur University |
| Notification / Advertisement No. | CSJMU/Gen.Admin/980/Teaching/2026 dated 26.09.2026 |
| Location | Kanpur, Uttar Pradesh |
| Total Vacancies | 36 (Professor 15, Associate Professor 13, Assistant Professor 8) |
| Qualification | As per UGC Regulations 2018 (AICTE Regulations 2019 for engineering and technology) |
| Age Limit | Not specified in notification |
| Selection Process | Assistant Professor: Academic score + written test → teaching test + interview. Associate Professor and Professor: Academic/research score shortlisting → interview |
| Pay Scale | As per UGC Regulations 2018 (exact figures not given in the notification) |
| How to Apply | Apply online, then send the signed printout by registered/speed post |
| Official Notification | Download Notification PDF |
| Official Website / Apply Online | CSJMU Careers page |
Important Dates
| Event | Date |
|---|---|
| Notification date | 26.09.2026 |
| Online application starts | 26.09.2026 |
| Last date to apply online | 31.10.2026 |
| Hard copy must reach the Registrar by | 05.11.2026 |
| OBC / EWS certificate must be issued on or after | 01.03.2026 |
| Qualification and experience counted as on | 31.10.2026 (last date of the form) |
Application Fee
| Category | Fee |
|---|---|
| SC / ST | Rs 2,000 |
| All other candidates (UR, OBC, EWS) | Rs 2,500 |
| Payment mode | Online, along with the application form |
| Refund | Not refundable |
| Applying for more than one post | Separate form and separate fee for each post |
Vacancy Details
Here is the category-wise count. PwBD means Persons with Benchmark Disabilities — people with at least 40% of a disability listed in the RPwD Act 2016.
| Post | SC | ST | OBC | EWS | UR | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Professor | 4 | 0 | 5 | 0 | 6 | 15 |
| Associate Professor | 5 | 0 | 2 | 1 | 5 | 13 |
| Assistant Professor | 4 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 2 | 8 |
| Total | 13 | 1 | 8 | 1 | 13 | 36 |
Department-wise, with the category of each post in brackets:
| Department | Professor | Associate Professor | Assistant Professor |
|---|---|---|---|
| Economics | 1 (OBC) | — | — |
| English and Modern European and Other Foreign Languages | 1 (SC) | 1 (SC) | — |
| Mathematics | — | 1 (UR) | — |
| Life Sciences | — | — | 1 (OBC, PwBD) |
| Journalism and Mass Communication | — | 1 (SC) | 1 (ST) |
| Painting (Sculpture / Applied Art) | 1 (SC) | 1 (OBC) | — |
| Physics | 1 (OBC) | — | — |
| Yoga | 1 (UR) | — | — |
| Law | 1 (OBC) | — | — |
| Business Administration | 1 (SC) | — | 1 (UR, PwBD) |
| Education (Teacher Training) | 1 (UR) | 1 (SC) | — |
| Continuing Education and Extension | 1 (UR) | — | — |
| Music — Dance (Kathak) | 1 (UR, PwBD) | — | — |
| Music — Vocal | — | 1 (UR) | — |
| Music — Tabla | — | — | 1 (SC, PwBD) |
| Music — Theatre | — | — | 1 (UR) |
| Hindi | 1 (UR) | 1 (UR) | — |
| Electronics and Communication Engineering | 1 (OBC) | 2 (1 OBC, 1 EWS) | — |
| Computer Engineering and Information Technology | 1 (OBC) | 2 (SC) | — |
| Chemical Engineering | 1 (SC) | — | — |
| Mechanical Engineering | 1 (UR) | 2 (UR) | 3 (SC) |
| Total | 15 | 13 | 8 |
Eligibility Criteria
| Criterion | Detail |
|---|---|
| Nationality | Indian nationals only |
| Educational Qualification | As laid down in the UGC Regulations 2018 (Minimum Qualifications for Appointment of Teachers). For engineering and technology, AICTE Regulations 2019 may apply. The notification does not list qualifications post by post. |
| Age Limit | Not specified in notification. Service conditions and retirement age follow UP Government rules. |
| Minimum research score | Associate Professor: API/Research score of at least 75. Professor: at least 120. |
| PhD from a foreign university | You must attach an equivalence certificate from the Association of Indian Universities (AIU), New Delhi. Only those who went abroad under the MHRD Foreign Scholarship Programme are exempt. |
| Already in a job | You need a No Objection Certificate (NOC) from your current employer. Without it you will not be allowed into the interview. |
| Cut-off date | Your qualification and experience are counted as on 31.10.2026 |
So the real eligibility check happens against the UGC Regulations 2018 for your subject and post — this notice only points to them, and it says clearly that making sure you qualify is your job, not the university’s.
Selection Process
API score means Academic Performance Indicator score: points the university gives you for your degrees, NET/JRF, PhD, research papers, teaching experience and awards.
| Stage | Details |
|---|---|
| Assistant Professor — Phase I (shortlisting) | Academic and API score out of 100, plus a 40-mark written objective test in your subject. The test follows the NET syllabus for sciences, humanities and social sciences, the GATE syllabus for engineering, and the GPAT syllabus for pharmacy. Together that is 140 marks, and a consolidated merit list is made from it. You get at least 7 days to object to your academic score and 3 days to object to your written test score. |
| Assistant Professor — Phase II (final selection) | Teaching skills assessment of 20 marks (a class presentation, plus your ability to take online classes on a computer) and an interview of 10 marks. Final selection depends on these 30 marks, and you need at least 50% (15 marks). Music candidates must first pass a music skill test. |
| Associate Professor and Professor — Shortlisting | Academic and API score out of 80, calculated under UGC Regulations 2018, Appendix II, Table 2 (research papers, books, MOOCs, PhD guidance, projects, patents, invited lectures). Only papers in NIRF-considered publications count. A cut-off of at least 50% decides who is called. You get at least 7 days to object to your score. Music candidates must pass a music skill test before the interview. |
| Associate Professor and Professor — Interview | Interview of 20 marks by a Selection Committee, which sends the final result in a sealed envelope to the Vice Chancellor. |
| Waiting list | Up to 2 candidates per post, valid for 1 year from the result |
In short: only Assistant Professor applicants sit a written test, and even for them the written marks just get you shortlisted — the final pick comes from the teaching demo and interview. Associate Professor and Professor applicants are shortlisted purely on their research record.
Academic Score for Assistant Professor
This is how the university scores your record for Assistant Professor posts (Table 3 of the notification). The total is then weighed down to 30%.
| Academic Record | Marks |
|---|---|
| Graduation | 80% and above: 15 · 60% to under 80%: 13 · 55% to under 60%: 10 · 45% to under 55%: 5 |
| Post-Graduation | 80% and above: 25 · 60% to under 80%: 23 · 55% to under 60% (50% for SC/ST/OBC non-creamy layer/PwBD): 20 |
| M.Phil. | 60% and above: 7 · 55% to under 60%: 5 |
| Ph.D. | 30 (full marks for a PhD from a NAAC A-graded or NIRF top-100 institution; others may get less) |
| NET with JRF / NET / SLET-SET | 7 / 5 / 3 |
| Research publications | 2 per paper in NIRF-considered publications, up to 10 |
| Teaching or post-doctoral experience | 2 per year, up to 10 (less than a year counts proportionately) |
| Awards | International or National level: 3 · State level: 2 |
| Caps | M.Phil. + Ph.D. together: max 30 · JRF/NET/SET: max 7 · Awards: max 3 |
Salary and Benefits
The notification does not state pay figures. It only says pay scales and other conditions follow the UGC Regulations 2018, AICTE Regulations 2019 and UP Government rules.
How to Apply
- Read the full notification and the General Information and Instructions on csjmu.ac.in.
- Fill the online application form between 26.09.2026 and 31.10.2026 — the link is on the CSJMU Careers page. Type whole numbers, not decimals or fractions, and upload PDF scans of every document that backs up what you claim.
- Pay the fee online: Rs 2,500, or Rs 2,000 for SC/ST. If you want more than one post, submit a separate form and fee for each.
- Print the submitted form and sign every page, along with every page of your supporting documents.
- Send it by registered or speed post to: The Registrar, Chhatrapati Shahu Ji Maharaj University, Kalyanpur, Kanpur-208024 (UP). On the envelope, write “Application for the post of” followed by the post and subject (for example, “Application for the post of Professor, Physics”), plus the advertisement number and the department. It must reach by 05.11.2026.
Note: You cannot change anything after final submission, and incomplete forms or forms without the fee are rejected.
Documents Required
| Document | Format / Notes |
|---|---|
| Photograph | Required with the application — forms without photographs are rejected. Size not stated in the notification. Resize your photo and signature → |
| Mark sheets and degree certificates | Merge into a single PDF for each qualification |
| Research papers, conference papers, books and chapters | First page only, compiled as a PDF, with proof of the journal impact factor for papers you claim in your academic score; each page signed |
| Research projects, patents, consultancy and awards | Merge each type into its own PDF |
| Experience certificates | To support the service experience you claim |
| SC / ST caste certificate | Hard copy in the UP Government format, issued by the competent authority |
| OBC (non-creamy layer) certificate | UP Government format, issued on or after 01.03.2026. Non-creamy layer means your family income is below the limit set for OBC reservation. |
| EWS certificate | UP Government format, issued on or after 01.03.2026 |
| AIU equivalence certificate | Only if your PhD is from a foreign university |
| No Objection Certificate (NOC) | Only if you are already employed |
| Any other documents | Upload in the “Other” section of the form |
Important Links
| Link | Click Here |
|---|---|
| Download Official Notification (PDF) | Download Notification |
| Apply Online | CSJMU Careers page |
| Official Website | csjmu.ac.in |
| Join Telegram Channel | Join Telegram Channel |
| Join WhatsApp Channel | Join WhatsApp Channel |
Common Mistakes to Avoid
- Don’t stop at the online form — without the signed hard copy reaching Kanpur by 05.11.2026, your application is incomplete.
- Don’t use one form for two posts; each post needs its own form and its own fee.
- Don’t send an OBC or EWS certificate issued before 01.03.2026 — it won’t be accepted.
- Don’t rush the final submit, because nothing can be edited afterwards.
- Don’t claim anything you can’t prove — a false document can end your job even after appointment.
- If you are employed, start on your NOC early; without it you can’t sit the interview.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the last date for CSJMU Faculty Recruitment 2026?
The online form closes on 31.10.2026, and your signed hard copy must reach the Registrar in Kanpur by 05.11.2026.
How many posts are there?
There are 36 posts in total: 15 Professor, 13 Associate Professor and 8 Assistant Professor, spread across 18 departments.
What qualification do I need?
The qualification follows the UGC Regulations 2018 (AICTE Regulations 2019 for engineering), since the notice does not list it post by post.
What is the age limit?
The notification does not state an age limit; it only says service conditions and retirement age follow UP Government rules.
How much is the application fee?
It is Rs 2,500, or Rs 2,000 for SC/ST candidates, paid online and not refundable — and you pay it again for every extra post you apply for.
Is there a written exam?
Only for Assistant Professor — a 40-mark objective test on the NET, GATE or GPAT syllabus of your subject — while Associate Professor and Professor candidates are shortlisted on research score and then interviewed.
Do I have to send a hard copy?
Yes, you must post the signed printout and documents by registered or speed post to The Registrar, CSJMU, Kalyanpur, Kanpur-208024, so it arrives by 05.11.2026.
Which posts are reserved for PwBD candidates?
Four posts are marked for persons with benchmark disabilities: Assistant Professor in Life Sciences, Business Administration and Tabla, and Professor in Kathak dance.
Disclaimer: The information above has been compiled from the official notification for the convenience of job seekers. Candidates are advised to verify all details from the official website before applying.






