IREL Chavara Apprentice Recruitment 2026 – 12 Posts, Apply Before 31.10.2026

IREL (India) Limited is taking 12 apprentices at its Chavara plant in Kollam, Kerala, and it gives first preference to people whose land was taken for the plant and to those who live within 10 km of it. There is no online application form here: you register on the national apprenticeship portal first, then post a printed form so that it reaches IREL by 31.10.2026. An apprentice is a trainee who learns on the job for 1 to 1.5 years and gets a monthly stipend, which is a fixed training allowance and not a salary.

⚡ QUICK FACTS
🎓 Eligibility
ITI, Diploma or Degree
📌 Vacancies
12 Apprentices
💰 Stipend
As per Apprenticeship Rules
🗓️ Last Date
31.10.2026
Quick Navigation

Recruitment Overview

FieldDetails
Post NameApprentices: Trade (Fitter, Welder, AAO(P)), Graduate (Mechanical), Technician (Mechanical) and General Stream (Executive)
OrganizationIREL (India) Limited (formerly Indian Rare Earths Limited), Chavara unit, Kollam
Notification / Advertisement No.IREL(India) Limited / Chavara/Intermediate Engagement of Apprentices/2026-27, dated 12.10.2026
LocationChavara, Kollam, Kerala
Total Vacancies12 (Trade 7, Graduate 1, Technician 2, General Stream 2)
QualificationITI, Diploma in Mechanical, B.Tech/BE in Mechanical, BBA(Fin)/B.Com or M.Sc (Chemistry), depending on the trade
Age Limit18 to 25 years as on 31.10.2026
Check your age eligibility →
Selection ProcessMerit list on marks → Document verification → Medical examination
Pay ScaleStipend as per Apprenticeship Rules, 1992 (amount not stated in the notification)
How to ApplyRegister on the apprenticeship portal, then send the filled form by post
Official NotificationDownload Notification PDF
Official Website / Apply OnlineApprenticeship India portal and NATS portal

Important Dates

EventDate
Notification Date12.10.2026
Last Date (your form must reach IREL)31.10.2026
Document VerificationDate not fixed yet. IREL will tell shortlisted candidates by email with a provisional offer letter

Application Fee

The notification does not mention any application fee.

Vacancy Details

Apprentice TypeTradeQualificationTraining PeriodVacancies
A. Trade ApprenticesFitterITI in Fitter trade1 year5
A. Trade ApprenticesWelderITI in Welder trade1 year1
A. Trade ApprenticesAAO(P)M.Sc (Chemistry)1.5 years1
B. Graduate ApprenticesMechanicalB.Tech / BE in Mechanical1 year1
C. Technician ApprenticesMechanicalDiploma in Mechanical1 year2
D. General StreamExecutiveBBA(Fin) / B.Com1 year2
Total12

The notification does not give a category-wise split. It says only that SC, ST, OBC, EWS and PWD (persons with disability) reservation applies as per the percentages followed in Kerala. It also says the final number of apprentices may change with the company’s needs.

Eligibility Criteria

CriterionDetail
Educational QualificationDepends on the trade. See the Vacancy Details table above
Age Limit18 to 25 years as on the last date of application (31.10.2026)
Check your age eligibility →
NationalityIndian national
Mode of StudyQualifications earned through distance learning, part-time or correspondence mode are not considered
Earlier ApprenticeshipNot eligible if you have done, or are doing, apprenticeship under the Apprentices Act, 1961 anywhere (government, public sector or private)
Higher QualificationNot open to candidates with a higher degree such as ME/M.Tech, MCA, MBA, MSc, MA, M.Com, CA, ICWA, PhD or LLB. The only exception is AAO(P), where an M.Sc is the required qualification
Application RestrictionYou can apply for one trade only. You also need an active email ID and mobile number that stay valid until the apprenticeship ends and for 1 year after it
ReservationSC, ST, OBC, EWS and PWD reservation as per the percentages applicable in Kerala
CategoryAge Relaxation
SC / STUp to 5 years
OBC (NCL)Up to 3 years
PWDUp to 10 years

So if you are 27 and belong to OBC (NCL), you are still eligible. NCL means non-creamy layer, and the 3 extra years take your upper limit to 28.

Not sure whether you are within the age limit?
Enter your date of birth, the 31.10.2026 cut-off date and your category relaxation to see instantly whether you fall inside the 18 to 25 year band.
Open the Age Calculator

Selection Process

StageDetails
1. Eligibility checkOnly candidates who meet the rules on qualification, marks and age are considered. Incomplete applications, or ones that do not meet the rules, are rejected
2. Merit listIREL ranks eligible candidates by the marks they scored in the qualification asked for. If two candidates tie, the one with higher marks in that qualification comes first, and after that seniority in date of birth decides. If your certificate shows no final aggregate, the average of all semesters or years is used. If it shows CGPA or grades, state the equivalent percentage as per your university’s rules and bring a certificate for it at document verification
3. Document verificationCandidates are called in order of merit. You bring original documents plus one set of self-attested photocopies, which means copies you have signed yourself as true. IREL sends a provisional offer letter by email first, and you can bring a printout of it. If you cannot show an original, you are rejected
4. Medical examinationThe company’s Medical Officer must declare you medically fit before you are engaged
5. Police verification and contractYou need a Police Verification Certificate from the police of the area where you normally live, because the plant is a highly protected area. You can start getting it in parallel, and must show it before joining. Selected candidates then sign a contract as per the Apprentices Act

Local candidates are given priority in this order, as listed in the notification:

PriorityGroup
1Land Affected Category (with a certificate from the Resources Department, showing you gave land to IREL)
2Candidates from the mining area and from peripheral villages within 10 km of the Chavara unit (with documentary proof)
3Wards of serving employees and Forum members
4Candidates from Kollam district (with documentary proof)
5Candidates from Kerala state (with documentary proof)
6Others

In short, the notification mentions no written test or interview. IREL ranks applicants by their marks, gives local candidates the priority order above, and then you must pass a medical check.

Salary and Benefits

ComponentDetail
StipendAs prescribed under the Apprenticeship Rules, 1992 and as notified by the government from time to time. The notification does not state the amount
Training Period1 year, except AAO(P) which is 1.5 years
Other BenefitsNone. IREL will not give any other benefit or financial help during training
Job After TrainingNot promised. IREL has no obligation to offer regular employment during or after the apprenticeship

In plain terms, you get a monthly stipend while you train, not a salary, and the notification does not say how much. Do not apply expecting a permanent job at the end.

How to Apply

  1. Register first on the right portal. Trade apprentices (Fitter, Welder, AAO(P)) register on the Apprenticeship India portal. Graduate, Technician and General Stream candidates register on the NATS portal. IREL will not accept an application without this registration.
  2. On the portal, apply to IREL under establishment registration number E08153200007.
  3. Fill in the form given as Annexure A at the end of the notification, preferably typed on A4 paper. Paste your recent passport size photograph on it. The form also asks for your portal registration number and Aadhaar number.
  4. Attach self-attested photocopies of the documents listed below. Write this on the envelope: “APPLICATION FOR ENGAGEMENT OF APPRENTICE AGAINST NOTIFICATION NO. IREL(India) Limited / Chavara/Apprentices Engagement/2026-27 dated 12-10-2026”.
  5. Post it, preferably by speed post, to The DGM (HRM), IREL (India) Limited, Chavara, Kollam District, Kerala – 691583. It must reach on or before 31.10.2026.

Note: IREL says applications that arrive by any other mode will also be considered, but it will not take responsibility for delay or loss in transit. Applications reaching after 31.10.2026 are not considered for any reason.

Documents Required

DocumentFormat / Notes
Proof of date of birth10th pass or Matriculation certificate, or birth certificate, issued by the Education Board or concerned authority. No other document is accepted for date of birth
10th / HSC mark sheetSelf-attested photocopy
Category certificateFor SC, ST, OBC (NCL), EWS or disability, in the prescribed format from the competent authority. The OBC non-creamy layer status must be valid and the OBC certificate must be the latest one
Income and Assets CertificateOnly for EWS candidates, from the competent authority
Mark sheets and pass certificateSemester-wise or year-wise mark sheets and the pass certificate of your qualification
Land Affected / Mining area proofOnly if you claim priority. Proof for land-affected candidates, or for those living in mining areas and villages within 10 km of the Chavara unit, certified by the Resources Department of IREL, Chavara
Nativity CertificateSelf-attested photocopy
Aadhaar CardSelf-attested photocopy
Passport size photographRecent photograph pasted on the application form
Police Verification CertificateNot needed with the application. You must show it after selection, before joining the training

Keep the originals ready, because IREL checks them at document verification.

LinkClick Here
Download Official Notification (PDF)Download Notification PDF
Register on the Portal (Trade Apprentices)Apprenticeship India portal
Register on the Portal (Graduate, Technician, General Stream)NATS portal
IREL Careers Pageirel.co.in/careers
Join Telegram ChannelJoin Telegram Channel
Join WhatsApp ChannelJoin WhatsApp Channel

Common Mistakes to Avoid

  • Skipping the portal registration. IREL will not accept your application without it.
  • Applying for more than one trade. You can choose one trade only.
  • Posting the form late. It must reach IREL by 31.10.2026, and the company is not responsible for delay or loss in the post, so send it by speed post well before that.
  • Sending an incomplete form or missing documents. Such applications are treated as rejected and IREL will not answer queries about it.
  • Using a qualification earned through distance learning, part-time or correspondence mode. It is not considered.
  • Offering any date of birth proof other than the 10th or Matriculation certificate or a birth certificate. Nothing else is accepted for age.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the last date to apply for IREL Chavara Apprentice 2026?
Your filled application must reach IREL by 31.10.2026, and anything that arrives later is not considered.

How many apprentice posts are there?
There are 12 posts: Fitter 5, Welder 1, AAO(P) 1, Mechanical Graduate 1, Mechanical Technician 2 and Executive 2.

What qualification do I need?
It depends on the trade: ITI for Fitter and Welder, M.Sc (Chemistry) for AAO(P), B.Tech or BE for Graduate Mechanical, Diploma for Technician Mechanical, and BBA(Fin) or B.Com for Executive.

What is the age limit?
You must be 18 to 25 years old on the last date of application, with 5 extra years for SC/ST, 3 for OBC (NCL) and 10 for PWD.

Is there an application fee?
The notification does not mention any application fee.

Is the application online or offline?
Both steps are needed: you register on the apprenticeship portal first, and then post the printed application form to IREL, Chavara.

How are apprentices selected?
IREL ranks eligible candidates by marks in their qualifying course, gives priority to local candidates such as the land-affected and people from within 10 km of the plant, and then checks documents and medical fitness.

How much is the stipend and will I get a job later?
The stipend follows the Apprenticeship Rules, 1992, the notification gives no amount, and IREL does not promise a regular job after training.

Disclaimer: The information above has been compiled from the official notification for the convenience of job seekers. Candidates are advised to verify all details from the official website before applying.