IIM Bodh Gaya Faculty Recruitment 2026 – Apply Before 18.11.2026

IIM Bodh Gaya is hiring teachers at every level, from a fresh PhD to a full Professor, across 10 management areas. It also wants a Senior Consultant (Academics) on contract. The advertisement is dated 28.10.2026 and the last date is 18.11.2026. It does not give a vacancy count, and the Institute says it may fill or not fill posts in any area.

⚡ QUICK FACTS
🎓 Eligibility
PhD + Master’s (60%)
📌 Vacancies
Not stated
💰 Salary
Rs 84,700 – 1,59,100 entry pay
🗓️ Last Date
18.11.2026
Quick Navigation

Recruitment Overview

FieldDetails
Post NameProfessor, Associate Professor, Assistant Professor (Grade I and Grade II), Professor / Associate Professor of Practice, and Senior Consultant (Academics) on contract
OrganizationIndian Institute of Management (IIM) Bodh Gaya, Ministry of Education, Government of India
Notification / Advertisement No.Not specified in notification (Faculty Positions: October 2026, dated 28.10.2026)
LocationBihar (Bodh Gaya)
Total VacanciesNot specified in notification
QualificationPhD in the relevant area and a first class (minimum 60%) Master’s degree, with experience set by post. Senior Consultant: Post-graduation or PhD with 20 years’ experience
Age LimitNo age limit stated for faculty posts; 50 to 70 years for Senior Consultant (contract)
Selection ProcessScreening of applications → Interview → Waiting list (valid 1 year)
Pay ScaleEntry pay Rs 84,700 to Rs 1,59,100 a month (7th CPC Levels 10 to 14A); Senior Consultant up to Rs 1,50,000 a month
How to ApplyFill in the application form on the IIM Bodh Gaya website before 18.11.2026
Official NotificationDownload Notification PDF
Official Website / Apply OnlineIIM Bodh Gaya Recruitment Portal

Important Dates

EventDate
Advertisement Date28.10.2026
Application Start DateNot specified in notification
Last Date to Apply18.11.2026
Interview DateNot specified in notification (shortlisted candidates will be called)
Waiting List Validity1 year from the date the result is declared

Application Fee

CategoryFee
All categoriesNot specified in notification

Vacancy Details

The notification invites Professor, Associate Professor, Assistant Professor and Professor / Associate Professor of Practice applications in all ten areas. It gives no post-wise or area-wise vacancy numbers. The Senior Consultant post is not tied to an area.

S.No.Teaching Area
1Economics
2Marketing Management
3Organizational Behaviour and Human Resource Management
4Humanities and Liberal Arts
5Business Communication
6Strategy and Entrepreneurship
7Finance and Accounting
8Information Technology Systems and Analytics
9Operations Management and Quantitative Techniques
10Business Law

Eligibility Criteria

Post and LevelQualification and ExperienceResearch Papers (ABDC / ABS, WoS or Scopus)
Professor
(Level 14A)
PhD with 10 years’ experience, of which 4 years as Associate Professor. First class (minimum 60%) Master’s degree with a consistently good academic record.Any one of: 8 ABDC-B / ABS-3 papers; 1 ABDC-A / ABS-4 and 6 ABDC-B / ABS-3; 2 A and 4 B; 3 A and 2 B; or 4 ABDC-A / ABS-4 papers. All indexed in WoS or Scopus. Two PhD / FPM students guided is preferred.
Associate Professor
(Level 13A2)
PhD with 6 years’ experience, of which 3 years after the PhD as Assistant Professor or equivalent. Industry (Government / PSU / research organization) candidates need 6 years at Assistant Professor level. Master’s 60%.Any one of: 5 ABDC-B / ABS-3 papers; 2 ABDC-A / ABS-4 and 1 ABDC-B / ABS-3; or 1 ABDC-A / ABS-4 and 3 ABDC-B / ABS-3. Indexed in WoS or Scopus.
Assistant Professor
(Level 13A1)
PhD with 5 years’ experience, of which 3 years after the PhD as Assistant Professor or equivalent. Industry candidates need 5 years at Assistant Professor level. Master’s 60%.Any one of: 4 ABDC-B / ABS-3 papers; 2 ABDC-A / ABS-4 papers; or 1 ABDC-A / ABS-4 and 2 ABDC-B / ABS-3. Indexed in WoS or Scopus.
Assistant Professor, Grade I
(Level 12)
PhD with 3 years’ experience, not counting the PhD period. Industry candidates need 3 years at Assistant Professor level. Master’s 60%.Either 3 ABDC-B / ABS-3 papers, or 1 ABDC-A / ABS-4 and 1 ABDC-B / ABS-3. Indexed in WoS or Scopus.
Assistant Professor, Grade II
(Level 11)
PhD in the right branch with more than 1 year of experience after the PhD (or the same in industry). First class (60%) in Master’s, Graduation, Class XII and Class X.Either 2 ABDC-B / ABS-3 papers or 1 ABDC-A / ABS-4 paper. Indexed in WoS or Scopus.
Assistant Professor, Grade II
(Level 10)
Fresh PhD in the right branch with less than 1 year of experience after the PhD. Those who have given the PhD viva with the degree provisionally awarded can apply. First class (60%) in Master’s, Graduation, Class XII and Class X.At least 1 ABDC-B / ABS-3 paper in a WoS or Scopus journal is a must. Two or more are desirable.
Professor / Associate Professor of Practice
(Level 14A / 13A2)
At least 20 years in industry or government, with proven impact on practice, and interest in teaching Leadership Development Programme (LDP) courses full time. A PhD is desirable but not essential.Not asked for.
Senior Consultant (Academics), contractPost-graduation or PhD from a recognized university or institution. At least 20 years of relevant experience in industry, government or academia. Age 50 to 70 years.Not asked for.

The pay table in the notification calls both Level 13A1 and Level 12 “Assistant Professor Grade I”. In the eligibility part, Level 13A1 is plain “Assistant Professor” and Level 12 is “Grade I”. Pick your level from the eligibility rules above.

Relaxation in Marks

CategoryRelaxation
SC / ST / PwD5% relaxation in the minimum 60% marks (Master’s; also Graduation for Levels 11 and 10). The notification writes PwD as DAP in some places.
OBC3% relaxation in the minimum 60% marks (Master’s; also Graduation for Levels 11 and 10)
Age relaxationNot specified in notification

In short: the bar rises with each level, from one paper at Level 10 to eight at Professor. Only papers in ABDC-listed journals count when applications are shortlisted, so check your papers against that list before you apply.

Key Conditions from the Notification

ConditionDetail
Recognized degreesAll qualifications must be from a UGC-recognized university, deemed university or an AICTE-approved autonomous institution.
Preferred backgroundPhD or teaching / research experience from AACSB, AMBA-BGA or EFMD-EQUIS accredited institutes is preferred.
Books and casesA book from a reputed publisher and one case with teaching note (Harvard Case Publishing, Richard Ivey or Emerald) are preferred, not compulsory.
If applications are too manyThe Screening Committee may raise the bar using academic, publication or work-experience yardsticks.
Contract offerStrong candidates short of the required papers or experience may be offered a contract post. Contracts can be for 1 or 2 years.
Exceptional candidatesThe Institute may relax qualification and experience, or give a higher start in the pay scale, for exceptionally bright candidates.
Lower postCandidates called for interview may be considered for lower posts if found suitable.
ReservationAs per Government of India rules.
Probation2 years for regular appointments.

Who Should Apply

  • The posts run from a fresh PhD at Level 10 up to Professor at Level 14A, so match your own years after the PhD to the right level before you apply.
  • If you are a senior industry or government professional with 20 or more years and no PhD, the Professor / Associate Professor of Practice and Senior Consultant routes are written for you. A Professor of Practice is first appointed for 2 years, extendable up to 5 years, and retires at 65.
  • If your papers are in journals outside the ABDC list, you may not be shortlisted, because the notification says only ABDC-journal papers are considered.
  • A fresh PhD with an excellent record but fewer papers than asked may be offered a 1 or 2 year contract instead of a regular post.

Selection Process

StageDetails
1. Screening of applicationsIncomplete applications are not entertained. Only papers in ABDC journals are used for shortlisting. Meeting the minimum qualification does not guarantee an interview call.
2. InterviewShortlisted candidates are called for an interview. Date, place and mode are not stated. The notification does not mention a written exam.
3. Offer and waiting listRegular appointments carry a 2-year probation. A 1 or 2 year contract offer is possible. The waiting list stays valid for 1 year from the result date.

In short: there is no written test in the notification. The Institute screens applications first and then interviews those it shortlists.

Salary and Benefits

Pay follows the 7th CPC (the 7th Central Pay Commission, the pay structure for central government staff). A Level is the pay grade of a post. Figures below are as printed in the notification.

PostLevelPay Scale (7th CPC)Entry Pay
Professor14ARs 1,59,100 – 2,20,200Rs 1,59,100
Associate Professor13A2Rs 1,39,600 – 2,11,300Rs 1,39,600
Assistant Professor Grade I (as printed for Level 13A1)13A1Rs 1,31,400 – 2,04,700Rs 1,31,400
Assistant Professor Grade I12Rs 1,01,500 – 1,67,400Rs 1,01,500
Assistant Professor Grade II11Rs 68,900 – 1,17,200Rs 89,900
Assistant Professor Grade II10Rs 57,700 – 98,200Rs 84,700
Professor of Practice14ARs 1,59,100 – 2,20,200Rs 1,59,100
Associate Professor of Practice13A2Rs 1,39,600 – 2,11,300Rs 1,39,600
ComponentDetail
Allowances and perksDA, HRA or leased accommodation, LTC, medical reimbursement, children education allowance, NPS, telephone bill reimbursement, incentive for research papers, faculty development fund for conferences, and membership of professional bodies – as per IIM Bodh Gaya rules.
ConsultingFaculty can take up management consulting, sharing the income with the Institute as per rules.
Senior Consultant payMaximum Rs 1,50,000 a month, all-inclusive.
Senior Consultant extrasCampus accommodation if available, or fixed HRA of Rs 15,000; telephone reimbursement up to Rs 1,500 a month; medical allowance as per Institute rules.

In plain terms, you start at Rs 84,700 a month at Level 10 and Rs 1,59,100 at Professor level, and the allowances in the second table come on top.

How to Apply

  1. Choose your post and area, and check your level against the eligibility table above.
  2. Open the IIM Bodh Gaya website or the recruitment portal given in Important Links, and find the Faculty Positions: October 2026 advertisement.
  3. Fill in the application form fully. Incomplete applications are not entertained.
  4. List your papers with their ABDC / ABS ratings, since only ABDC-journal papers are used for shortlisting.
  5. Submit the form before 18.11.2026 and keep a copy.

Note: The notification only says the application form is on www.iimbg.ac.in. Follow the steps shown on the form itself.

Documents Required

DocumentFormat / Notes
Master’s, Graduation, Class XII and Class X marksheetsNeeded to show the minimum 60% marks (Class XII and X for Levels 11 and 10)
PhD certificateFor Level 10, proof of the viva and provisional award is enough
Experience certificatesTeaching, research or industry experience as asked for your post
List of publicationsWith journal name, ABDC / ABS rating and WoS or Scopus indexing
Category certificateSC, ST, OBC or PwD, only if you want the marks relaxation
Photo ID, photograph and signatureFormat and size are not stated in the notification

The notification does not list documents. This is general guidance, not taken from the notification.

LinkURL
Download Official Notification (PDF)Open
Newspaper Advertisement (PDF)Open
Apply Online – IIM Bodh Gaya Recruitment PortalOpen
IIM Bodh Gaya Careers PageOpen
Join Telegram ChannelOpen
Join WhatsApp ChannelOpen

Common Mistakes to Avoid

  • Sending an incomplete application. The notification says these will not be entertained.
  • Counting papers that are not in ABDC journals. Only ABDC papers are used for shortlisting.
  • Choosing the wrong level. Count your years after the PhD carefully, because Levels 13A1 and above ask for experience as Assistant Professor or equivalent.
  • Waiting for the last day. 18.11.2026 is the cutoff, and any amendment or corrigendum goes only on the Institute website.
  • Expecting a reply if you are not shortlisted. The Institute will not answer queries about the interview, result or reasons for not calling you.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the last date to apply for IIM Bodh Gaya faculty posts?

The last date is 18.11.2026, as given in item 14 of the General Information in the notification.

How many vacancies are there?

The notification does not give a number, and the Institute may fill or not fill posts in any area.

What is the qualification for Assistant Professor Grade II at Level 10?

You need a fresh PhD in the right branch and first class (60%) marks in Master’s, Graduation, Class XII and Class X, plus at least one ABDC-B / ABS-3 paper in a WoS or Scopus journal.

Is there an age limit?

No age limit is stated for the faculty posts, but the contract Senior Consultant must be 50 to 70 years old.

What is the salary of an IIM Bodh Gaya faculty member?

Entry pay runs from Rs 84,700 a month at Level 10 to Rs 1,59,100 at Professor level, with allowances such as DA, HRA and NPS on top.

Is there a written exam?

The notification does not mention one; applications are screened and shortlisted candidates are called for an interview.

Can I apply without a PhD?

Yes, but only for Professor / Associate Professor of Practice or Senior Consultant, where 20 years of industry, government or academic experience can stand in for a PhD.

How do I apply, and is there a fee?

Apply through the application form on the IIM Bodh Gaya website; the notification does not mention any application fee.

Disclaimer: The information above has been compiled from the official notification for the convenience of job seekers. Candidates are advised to verify all details from the official website before applying.