RRC Northern Railway Scouts and Guides Recruitment 2026 – 27 Posts, Apply by 06.12.2026

Northern Railway has kept 27 jobs for people who are active in the Scouts and Guides movement. The Railway Recruitment Cell (RRC), Northern Railway published Employment Notice No. RRC/NR 01/2026/S&G on 04.11.2026, and you can apply online at www.rrcnr.org from 06.11.2026 to 06.12.2026. Five posts are at Level 2 (Group C) and 22 are at Level 1 (Group D). A Level is a pay grade on the 7th Pay Commission pay matrix, the pay table used for central government jobs. No post is reserved for any community, but you must hold the Scouts and Guides record the notice asks for.

⚡ QUICK FACTS
🎓 Eligibility
10th / ITI / 12th + Scouts record
📌 Vacancies
27 (Level 2: 5, Level 1: 22)
💰 Salary
7th CPC Pay Level 1 and 2
🗓️ Last Date
06.12.2026
Quick Navigation

Recruitment Overview

FieldDetails
Post NameGroup C (Level 2) and Group D (Level 1, formerly called Group D) posts under the Scouts and Guides Quota 2026-27
OrganizationRailway Recruitment Cell (RRC), Northern Railway
Notification / Advertisement No.Employment Notice No. RRC/NR 01/2026/S&G
LocationDelhi (NCT) — the written exam and document verification are held in Delhi only. Northern Railway decides the place of posting later.
Total Vacancies27 (Level 2: 5 posts, Level 1: 22 posts). No post is reserved for any community.
QualificationLevel 2: 12th pass with 50% marks, or Matric plus ITI or Act Apprenticeship (technician posts). Level 1: 10th pass, ITI or NAC. Both levels also need a Scouts and Guides qualification.
Age Limit18 to 38 years as on 01.01.2027 (varies by post — see table below)
Check your age eligibility →
Selection ProcessWritten test (CBT) → Certificate marks → Document Verification → Medical Examination
Pay Scale7th CPC Pay Level 2 (Group C) and Pay Level 1 (Group D). The rupee amount is not stated in the notification.
How to ApplyApply online only at www.rrcnr.org from 06.11.2026 to 06.12.2026
Official NotificationDownload Official Notification (PDF)
Official Website / Apply Onlinewww.rrcnr.org

Important Dates

EventDate
Detailed notification published on the RRC website04.11.2026
Online application starts06.11.2026
Online application ends06.12.2026 (closing time not stated in the notification)
Age counted as on01.01.2027
Written examination (expected)January 2027

Application Fee

CategoryFee
All candidates except those listed in the next rowRs 500. Rs 400 is refunded after you appear in the CBT (bank charges are cut).
SC / ST / Ex-Servicemen / Persons with Benchmark Disabilities (PwBD) / Transgender / Women / Minorities / Economically Backward Classes (EBC)Rs 250. The full amount is refunded after you appear in the written exam (bank charges are cut).

The fee is paid online only. For this notice, Minority means Muslims, Christians, Buddhists, Zoroastrians (Parsis) and Sikhs. Economically Backward Classes means candidates whose family income is below Rs 50,000 a year. If you apply for both levels, you pay the fee twice, once for each form. Refunds go back to the account you paid from, so pay from your own account.

Vacancy Details

PostPay Level (7th CPC)Vacancies
Group CLevel 25
Group D (formerly Group D)Level 122
Total27

The notice gives no category-wise split. The posts are open to all communities and nothing is reserved.

Eligibility Criteria

CriterionDetail
Educational Qualification — Level 2 (Group C)Passed 12th (+2) from a recognised board or equivalent with at least 50% marks in total. The 50% rule is not insisted on for SC, ST and Ex-servicemen for NTPC categories, and for candidates who have a higher qualification such as graduation or post graduation. OR Matric plus a Course Completed Act Apprenticeship (training under the Apprentices Act) for technician categories. OR Matric plus an ITI (Industrial Training Institute) certificate approved by NCVT or SCVT for technician categories.
Educational Qualification — Level 1 (Group D)10th pass, or ITI, or an equivalent qualification, or a National Apprenticeship Certificate (NAC) from NCVT. The notice also lists “10th plus NAC” and “10th plus ITI” as options, so read page 2 of the PDF if you are unsure.
Scouts and Guides Qualification (both levels)(a) You hold a President Scout, Guide, Rover or Ranger award, or the Himalaya Wood Badge (HWB), in any section. (b) You have been an active member of a Scouts organisation for the last 5 years, shown by a Certificate of Activeness in the Annexure I format. (c) You have attended two events at National level or All India Railway level, and two events at State level.
Age Limit18 to 38 years as on 01.01.2027 (varies by post — see table below)
Check your age eligibility →
Application RestrictionYou can apply for both levels if you are eligible, but you must file a separate form and pay a separate fee for each. No relaxation is allowed in the educational or Scouts and Guides qualification. Candidates already in government service must apply with a No Objection Certificate (NOC) from their employer.

Age Limit by Post and Category (as on 01.01.2027)

PostUR (General)OBCSC / ST
Level 2 (Group C)18 to 30 years18 to 33 years18 to 35 years
Level 1 (Group D)18 to 33 years18 to 36 years18 to 38 years

The limits above are as printed in the notice. Your date of birth must match your 10th or Matric certificate, or your application will be rejected.

Age Relaxation

CategoryRelaxation
SC / ST candidates5 years
OBC (Non-Creamy Layer) candidates3 years
Ex-servicemen with more than 6 months of continuous service after attestationLength of defence service plus 3 years
Persons with Disabilities (PwD) — General10 years
PwD — OBC (Non-Creamy Layer)13 years
PwD — SC / ST15 years
Candidates who lived in Jammu and Kashmir between 01.01.1980 and 31.12.19895 years
Serving Group C and former Group D railway staff, casual labour and substitutes with at least 3 years of service (continuous or in broken spells)Maximum age 40 (General), 43 (OBC Non-Creamy Layer), 45 (SC / ST)
Staff of quasi-administrative offices of the Railways such as canteens, co-operative societies and institutesLength of service or 5 years, whichever is lower
Women who are widowed, or divorced or judicially separated and not remarriedMaximum age 35 (General), 38 (OBC Non-Creamy Layer), 40 (SC / ST)
Course Completed Act Apprentices applying for posts where the minimum qualification is ITI or Act ApprenticeshipRelaxed by the length of apprentice training done under the Apprentices Act 1961
Candidates who started Act Apprenticeship before turning 25Maximum age 35 (General), 38 (OBC Non-Creamy Layer), 40 (SC / ST)

Non-Creamy Layer (NCL) means the part of the OBC group whose family income is below the government limit, and you prove it with a valid certificate. So an OBC candidate who is 32 on 01.01.2027 can still apply for Level 2, because the OBC limit there is 33. Widowed or divorced women and serving railway staff get much higher limits than the table above.

Not sure whether you are within the age limit?
Enter your date of birth, the cut-off date 01.01.2027 and your category relaxation to see at once whether you fall inside the age band for Level 2 or Level 1.
Open the Age Calculator

Who Should Apply

  • This is a Scouts and Guides quota, not an open railway exam. If you have no Scouts or Guides certificates, you cannot apply, however good your marks are.
  • Your Certificate of Activeness must be issued on or after 04.11.2026, the notification date. An older certificate does not count, so start getting a fresh one signed now.
  • Your Scout and Guide record is worth 40 of the 100 marks, and the written test is worth 60. A strong record helps as much as a good paper.
  • If you meet the rules for both levels, you can apply for both. You will need two forms and two fees, and the exams are planned for the same day in two shifts.
  • If you already work in government service, you need an NOC from your employer, or your application can be rejected at any stage.

Selection Process

StageDetails
1. Written test (CBT / TBT)A Computer Based Test (CBT) or Tablet Based Test (TBT). 60 minutes and 60 marks: 40 objective questions (40 marks) and 1 essay question (20 marks) on the Scouts and Guides organisation, its activities and general knowledge. The pattern is the same for Level 2 and Level 1. The paper is in Hindi or English. One-third of a mark is cut for each wrong objective answer. It is held in Delhi only.
2. Certificate marksUp to 40 marks for your Scouts and Guides certificates, as in the table below. These are added to your written test marks to make 100.
3. ShortlistingYou need at least 40% in the written test to go ahead. Reserved categories get relaxation as per Railway Board rules. Candidates equal to 5 times the number of vacancies are called for document verification, in order of merit in the written test.
4. Document Verification (DV)Held in Delhi only. You show your original documents plus one set of self-attested photocopies. The final panel is made from your written test marks and your certificate marks together.
5. Medical ExaminationYou must pass the medical fitness standard set for the post by Northern Railway.

In short: the written test gives 60 marks and your certificates give up to 40. You must score at least 40% in the written test to move on, and the final list uses both.

Marks for Scouts and Guides Certificates (40 marks)

Type of certificateWhat you haveMarks
National events, National Jamboree and All India Railway eventsFirst two certificates (the minimum qualification)Nil
One more event7
Two or more more events10
State events and ralliesFirst two certificates (the minimum qualification)Nil
One more event7
Two or more more events10
Specialised Scouts and Guides course at National, State or All India Railways levelOne course7
Two or more courses10
Participation in District ralliesOne certificateNil
Two certificates7
Three certificates10

Exam Syllabus

AreaTopics (as listed in Annexure II)
Scouting and Guiding basicsHistory of Scouting and Guiding; Law and Promise; Motto, left hand shake, salute, prayer, flag song and National Anthem; know the National and Scouting flags; Scouting for Boys and Guiding for Girls in India; knowledge of books
Organisation and trainingOrganisation at District and State level; Training Centres at District and State level; stages in Scouting and Guiding; progressive training of Scouts, Guides, Rovers and Rangers; Thinking Day
ActivitiesSocial services on various occasions; hiking; pioneering; handicrafts; Proficiency Badges and how they are earned; Indian Railway Jamborette; National Jamboree; Jamboree on the Air
National level and aimsOrganisation at National level; National Training Centres; WAGGGS/WOSM; Uprashtrapati Award Competition; Prime Minister Shield Competition; Community Development Programmes; aims and methods of Scouting; how Scouting is useful in producing better citizens

The notice calls this a proposed syllabus for Group C posts, and says the test follows it for both Level 2 and Level 1.

Salary and Benefits

ComponentDetail
Group C postsLevel 2 of the Pay Matrix, 7th CPC (RS(RP) Rules, 2016)
Group D postsLevel 1 of the Pay Matrix, 7th CPC (RS(RP) Rules, 2016)
Pay amountNot specified in notification
ProbationAs per existing railway rules
TrainingYou undergo training as needed for the post you are selected for
Typing (Clerk posts)Anyone appointed to a Clerk post under this quota must gain typing skill within 2 years of joining, or the service is ended

The notice does not give a rupee figure for either level, so check the 7th CPC pay matrix before you decide.

How to Apply

  1. Go to www.rrcnr.org, tick the box saying you have read the notification, and click Apply Online.
  2. In the login box, choose Login for already registered candidates, or register as a new candidate.
  3. Fill the form in six parts: registration, application form, exam fee payment, upload of photo, signature and thumb impression, payment details print, and application print. Your dashboard turns from red to green as you finish each step.
  4. Upload your photograph in full Scout or Guide uniform with cap, your signature, thumb impression and scanned self-attested copies of your certificates.
  5. Pay the fee online, then print the payment slip and the application for your records. Complete all steps before 06.12.2026.

Note: Do not post hard copies of anything to RRC. You show the original certificates only at document verification. You must bring your own Scout or Guide uniform or kit to the selection process. No travel allowance is paid, but SC and ST candidates who uploaded their community certificate get free second-class travel on showing the E-Admit Card.

Photograph or signature rejected by the upload form?
The notice does not give a pixel or KB size, so the form will show its own limits. Use the resizer to bring your Scout or Guide uniform photograph and signature to the exact size the form accepts.
Open the Photo and Signature Resizer

Documents Required

DocumentFormat / Notes
PhotographMust be in full Scout or Guide uniform with cap. Size is not specified in the notification.
Resize your photo and signature →
Signature and thumb impressionTo be uploaded with the form. Signature in capital letters or a different signature at different places leads to rejection.
Date of birth proof10th or Matric certificate. It must show your date of birth.
Educational certificatesProof of the minimum qualification for the post, self-attested
President Scout, Guide, Rover or Ranger certificate, or Himalaya Wood Badge (HWB) certificateScanned certificate and parchment, self-attested, for any section
Certificate of Activeness (Annexure I)Shows 5 years of active membership. It must be issued on or after 04.11.2026.
Event and course certificatesNational, State, Railway and District events, courses and rallies you claim marks for
Category certificateSC, ST or OBC self-attested certificate from the competent authority. Minority, EBC and PwD certificates in the notice format where they apply.
No Objection Certificate (NOC)Needed if you are already in government service
Declaration for Appointment (Annexure III)Taken from candidates who finally qualify, promising to do Unit Leader training, run a Unit and assist Railway Scout administration
LinkURL
Apply OnlineApply Online at www.rrcnr.org
Official NotificationDownload Official Notification (PDF)
Official WebsiteRRC Northern Railway Website
Join Telegram ChannelJoin Telegram Channel
Join WhatsApp ChannelJoin WhatsApp Channel

Common Mistakes to Avoid

  • Using an old Certificate of Activeness. The notice says it must not be issued before the notification date.
  • Uploading a photograph that is not in full Scout or Guide uniform with cap. This makes the application invalid.
  • Filing one form for both levels. You need a separate form and a separate fee for each level.
  • Forgetting to upload self-attested copies of your certificates, or leaving your date of birth blank or wrong.
  • Paying the fee from someone else’s account. Refunds go back to the source account.
  • Applying in government service without an NOC. The application can be rejected at any stage.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the last date to apply for RRC Northern Railway Scouts and Guides Recruitment 2026?

You can apply online from 06.11.2026 to 06.12.2026 at www.rrcnr.org.

How many posts are there?

There are 27 posts: 5 at Level 2 (Group C) and 22 at Level 1 (Group D).

What qualification do I need?

For Level 2 you need 12th pass with 50% marks, or Matric plus ITI or Act Apprenticeship for technician posts; for Level 1 you need 10th pass, ITI or NAC; both levels also need the Scouts and Guides qualification.

What is the age limit?

As on 01.01.2027, Level 2 is 18 to 30 years for General, 33 for OBC and 35 for SC/ST, and Level 1 is 18 to 33 years for General, 36 for OBC and 38 for SC/ST.

How much is the application fee?

The fee is Rs 500 for most candidates and Rs 250 for SC, ST, Ex-Servicemen, PwBD, Transgender, Women, Minorities and EBC candidates, with refunds after you appear in the exam.

How are candidates selected?

You take a 60-mark written test, get up to 40 marks for Scouts and Guides certificates, then go through document verification and a medical examination.

Can I apply for both Level 1 and Level 2?

Yes, if you meet the rules for both, but you must file a separate form and pay a separate fee for each.

When and where is the exam?

The written exam is expected in January 2027, and it and the document verification are held in Delhi only.

Disclaimer: The information above has been compiled from the official notification for the convenience of job seekers. Candidates are advised to verify all details from the official website before applying.

Apply Online →