ISRO SHAR Apprentice Recruitment 2026 – 400 Posts, Apply Before 26.11.2026

ISRO’s Satish Dhawan Space Centre (SDSC SHAR) at Sriharikota is taking in 400 apprentices for 12 months of paid training, in six groups that run from engineering graduates to ITI trades such as fitter and electrician. You can register online from 06.11.2026 to 26.11.2026. An apprentice is a trainee who earns a stipend (a fixed monthly payment) while learning on the job, and the notification is clear that the training gives you no claim to a job at SHAR or ISRO afterwards.

⚡ QUICK FACTS
🎓 Eligibility
B.E., Degree, Diploma, ITI
📌 Vacancies
400 Apprentice Posts
💰 Stipend
Rs 9,600 to 12,300 / month
🗓️ Last Date
26.11.2026
Quick Navigation

ISRO SHAR Apprentice Overview

FieldDetails
Post NameApprentice: Engineering Graduate, Non-Engineering Graduate, Technician (Diploma), Diploma (DCCP), Trade and Vocational, under the Apprentices Act, 1961
OrganizationSatish Dhawan Space Centre (SDSC) SHAR, Sriharikota, Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO), Department of Space, Government of India
Notification / Advertisement No.SDSC SHAR/SCF/P&GA-II/Apprentice/2026 dated 06.11.2026
LocationSriharikota, Andhra Pradesh
Total Vacancies400 (UR 175, OBC 105, SC 57, ST 27, EWS 36). The notification gives the figures for each group; the total is added up from them
QualificationB.E./B.Tech, B.Sc/B.Com/B.A., Diploma, ITI or a vocational course certificate, depending on the group (see Eligibility Criteria)
Age LimitNot specified in notification
Selection ProcessMerit list from academic marks → Document verification → Apprenticeship contract
StipendRs 9,600 to Rs 12,300 a month, depending on the group (full list in Stipend and Benefits below)
How to ApplyRegister on the NATS portal, then apply on the UMANG portal, 06.11.2026 to 26.11.2026
Official NotificationDownload Official Notification (PDF)
Official Website / Apply OnlineUMANG Portal | SDSC SHAR Website

Important Dates

EventDate
Notification date06.11.2026
Online registration starts06.11.2026
Last date for online registration26.11.2026 (closing time not stated)
Document verificationNot yet announced. Shortlisted candidates will be called
Training period12 months, counted from the day the apprenticeship contract is signed

Application Fee

The notification does not mention any application fee.

Vacancy Details

UR means Unreserved (open to everyone), OBC is Other Backward Classes, SC is Scheduled Castes, ST is Scheduled Tribes and EWS is Economically Weaker Section. The notification applies reservation at the level of each apprenticeship group, not branch by branch, and gives no separate seat count for persons with disabilities.

Apprenticeship groupPostsUROBCSCSTEWS
Engineering Graduate502213735
Non-Engineering Graduate602716845
Technician (Diploma)35169523
Diploma (DCCP)602716845
Trade1807548271317
Vocational1583211
Total400175105572736

Branch-wise and trade-wise posts

GroupBranch / TradePosts
Engineering GraduateMechanical / Aerospace / Production / Industrial Engineering15
Engineering GraduateElectronics (ECE / EIE / ICE / ETE)10
Engineering GraduateElectrical / EEE9
Engineering GraduateComputer Science (CSE / IT / AI and ML / DS / CS)5
Engineering GraduateCivil4
Engineering GraduateChemical7
Non-Engineering GraduateScience20
Non-Engineering GraduateCommerce25
Non-Engineering GraduateArts15
Technician (Diploma)Mechanical / Aerospace10
Technician (Diploma)Electronics (ECE / EIE / ICE / ETE)5
Technician (Diploma)Electrical and Electronics (EEE)5
Technician (Diploma)Computer Science (CSE / IT)3
Technician (Diploma)Civil4
Technician (Diploma)Chemical4
Technician (Diploma)Automobile3
Technician (Diploma)Photography1
Diploma (DCCP)Commercial and Computer Practice60
TradeFitter75
TradeElectrician25
TradeElectronic Mechanic30
TradeChemical15
TradeRefrigeration and Air Conditioning10
TradePlumber / POCM5
TradeDiesel Mechanic5
TradeMachinist3
TradeTurner2
TradeWelder2
TradeDraughtsman (Mechanical)3
TradeDraughtsman (Civil)3
TradeMotor Mechanic2
VocationalMultipurpose Health Worker (MPHW)7
VocationalMedical Lab Technician (MLT)4
VocationalConstruction Engineering Technology (CET)4

Eligibility Criteria

CriterionDetail
Engineering GraduateB.E. or B.Tech in the relevant branch from a recognised university or institute, in first class with at least 60% marks or 6.32 CGPA
Non-Engineering GraduateB.Sc in Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry, Electronics or Computer Science, or B.Com, or B.A., from a recognised university or institute, in first class with at least 60% marks or 6.32 CGPA
Technician (Diploma)Diploma in the relevant branch, in first class with at least 60% marks or 6.32 CGPA
Diploma (DCCP)Not specified in notification (the qualification table does not list this group)
TradeSSLC or SSC plus ITI or NTC in the relevant trade from NCVT (the national body that certifies ITI trades)
VocationalA vocational course certificate in the relevant subject, with two years of study after secondary school, from a course recognised by AICTE
Year of passingFor graduate and diploma apprentices, the qualification must have been passed in 2022 or later
Not eligibleHolders of sandwich or short-term certificate courses, and anyone studying for a higher qualification. Also anyone who has already done or is doing an apprenticeship, has one year or more of experience in any organisation, or was terminated from or withdrew from an apprenticeship
NationalityIndian citizens only
Age LimitNot specified in notification
Entering your marksEnter your CGPA or percentage as printed on your consolidated marksheet. A CGPA is converted to a percentage with your institution’s formula; if there is none, it is multiplied by 9.5

In short: for the degree and diploma groups you need a first-class pass (at least 60%, or 6.32 CGPA, which comes to about 60% on the 9.5 factor) and you must have passed in 2022 or later. For trade and vocational seats the notification states no minimum marks.

Who Should Apply

  • This is 12 months of paid training under the Apprentices Act, not a job. The notification says you will have no claim to any ad hoc, temporary or permanent job at SHAR, ISRO or the Department of Space once the training ends.
  • Your marks decide everything. The notification lists no written test or interview: SHAR makes a merit list from academic marks for each branch or trade and calls the shortlisted candidates for document verification.
  • Read the exclusions before you apply. You cannot apply if you have done or are doing an apprenticeship, have one year or more of work experience, or are studying for a higher qualification. The marks and passing year you enter must match your certificates, or your application is cancelled.
  • Plan for two portals and a bank link. You register on NATS first and then apply on UMANG, and your Aadhaar must be linked to your bank account and enabled for DBT (Direct Benefit Transfer, where government money goes straight into your bank account).
  • If you want a regular job at SHAR instead of training, the centre has a separate notice for 97 posts that closes on 09.11.2026: ISRO SDSC SHAR Recruitment 2026 – 97 Posts, Apply Before 09.11.2026.

Selection Process

StageDetails
Step 1: Merit listSHAR draws up a merit list (a ranking by academic marks) for each apprenticeship group, with separate category-wise lists for UR, OBC, SC, ST and EWS. Government of India reservation rules are applied at the level of each group
Step 2: ShortlistingYou are shortlisted by your position in the merit list for the branch, trade or subject you applied for. The shortlist is made from the details you enter in your online application
Step 3: Document verificationShortlisted candidates are called with their original documents. Only those who attend and meet every condition are considered. No travelling allowance is paid, and you arrange your own lodging and food
Step 4: Contract and joiningSelected candidates sign an apprenticeship contract under the Apprentices Act, 1961 and its 1973 amendment, and hand in a medical fitness certificate when they join. Training runs for 12 months from the date the contract is signed

In short: this notification lists no written test or interview. Your marks decide your place in the merit list, and a mismatch between your application and your certificates at any stage cancels your candidature.

Stipend and Benefits

ComponentDetail
Stipend: Engineering GraduateRs 12,300 a month
Stipend: Non-Engineering GraduateRs 12,300 a month
Stipend: Technician (Diploma)Rs 10,900 a month
Stipend: TradeRs 9,600 a month
Stipend: VocationalRs 9,600 a month
Stipend: Diploma (DCCP)Not specified in notification
Training period12 months
AccommodationShared accommodation in a SHAR residential colony, if you need it, subject to availability
Bank accountYour Aadhaar must be linked to your bank account and enabled for DBT
After trainingNo claim to any ad hoc, temporary or permanent job at SHAR, ISRO or the Department of Space

In plain terms, this is a 12-month paid training programme and not a salaried job. You earn between Rs 9,600 and Rs 12,300 a month depending on your group, and SHAR makes no promise of work afterwards.

How to Apply

  1. Register on the NATS portal (National Apprenticeship Training Scheme) at nats.education.gov.in. The notification also names the National Apprenticeship Promotion Scheme portal as an option for this registration.
  2. While registering, upload soft copies of your degree or diploma certificate (as it applies to you) and a valid government ID. Once the registration goes through, you get an Enrolment Number or Apprenticeship Registration No.
  3. Check that your Aadhaar number is linked to your bank account and enabled for DBT.
  4. Log in to the UMANG portal at web.umang.gov.in, search for “SDSC SHAR Apprenticeship” and choose your post.
  5. Fill in every detail, upload your photo, signature and certificates, and submit the form between 06.11.2026 and 26.11.2026.
  6. Keep a copy of the submitted application for later.

Note: the details in the online form are final and cannot be changed after you submit. Applications sent in any way other than the online portal are not accepted.

Photograph or signature rejected by the upload form?
The UMANG form wants a scanned photo and signature in its own size and format, and your marksheets and certificates must be JPG, JPEG or PNG files of 1 MB or less. Resize them first so the upload goes through on the first try.
Open the Photo and Signature Resizer

Documents Required

DocumentFormat / Notes
Passport-size photographScanned copy in the format and size shown on the UMANG portal. It must be clear enough to identify you.
Resize your photo and signature →
SignatureScanned copy in the format and size shown on the UMANG portal. It must be clear and easy to read
10th (SSC), Intermediate, ITI, Diploma and graduation certificatesUpload the ones that apply to you as JPG, JPEG or PNG files of 1 MB or less each. Marks, class, and month and year of passing must match what you enter in the form
Valid government IDSoft copy, uploaded while registering on NATS
Caste certificate (SC, ST, OBC)Latest certificate from the competent authority, uploaded with the application and shown in original with a self-attested copy at document verification
EWS income and assets certificateValid for 2026-2027, in the Government of India format, with a self-attested copy, at document verification
Disability certificate (PwBD)Certificate from the competent authority uploaded with the application. At document verification, bring the valid certificate and the Unique Disability Identity Card with a self-attested copy
Originals for document verificationProof of date of birth, marksheets, testimonials and certificates of all educational qualifications
Medical fitness certificateTo be given when you join, if selected
LinkOpen
Official Notification (PDF)Download Official Notification (PDF)
Register first on NATSNATS Portal
Apply OnlineUMANG Portal
Official WebsiteSDSC SHAR Website
TelegramJoin Telegram Channel
WhatsAppJoin WhatsApp Channel

Common Mistakes to Avoid

  • Skipping the NATS registration. You need it before you can apply on UMANG, and applications sent in any other way are not accepted.
  • Entering marks or a passing year that do not match your certificates. Any mismatch in name, age, percentage or year of passing, at any stage, cancels your candidature.
  • Counting on a change after you submit. The online data is treated as final and no edit is allowed.
  • Uploading the wrong file type or size. Documents must be JPG, JPEG or PNG and not more than 1 MB each, and your photo must be clear.
  • Leaving your Aadhaar unlinked to your bank account. The notification wants it linked and enabled for DBT.
  • Canvassing. Asking anyone for influence in any form disqualifies you, and the notification says no interim letters or queries are entertained.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the last date to apply for ISRO SHAR Apprentice 2026?

Online registration opens on 06.11.2026 and the last date is 26.11.2026; the notification does not give a closing time.

How many apprentice posts are there?

There are 400 posts: 50 Engineering Graduate, 60 Non-Engineering Graduate, 35 Technician (Diploma), 60 Diploma (DCCP), 180 Trade and 15 Vocational.

Who can apply?

B.E./B.Tech, B.Sc, B.Com, B.A., diploma, ITI and vocational course holders can apply for their matching group, and graduates and diploma holders must have passed in 2022 or later in first class (60% or 6.32 CGPA).

What is the stipend?

The stipend is Rs 12,300 a month for graduate apprentices, Rs 10,900 for technician (diploma) apprentices and Rs 9,600 for trade and vocational apprentices, and the notification lists none for the Diploma (DCCP) group.

Is there a written exam or an interview?

The notification lists neither: SHAR picks candidates from a merit list based on academic marks and then checks their documents.

How do I apply?

Register on the NATS portal first, then log in to UMANG, search for SDSC SHAR Apprenticeship and submit the online form by 26.11.2026.

Will I get a permanent job at ISRO after the apprenticeship?

No, the notification says trainees have no claim to any ad hoc, temporary or permanent job at SHAR, ISRO or the Department of Space after the training period.

Is there an age limit or an application fee?

The notification states neither an age limit nor an application fee.

Disclaimer: The information above has been compiled from the official notification for the convenience of job seekers. Candidates are advised to verify all details from the official website before applying.