UPPSC has announced 501 vacancies for Samiksha Adhikari and Sahayak Samiksha Adhikari, the posts many aspirants know as Review Officer (RO) and Assistant Review Officer (ARO). The jobs sit in four offices: the UP Secretariat, UPPSC itself, the Board of Revenue and the Office of the Advocate General at Allahabad High Court. You can apply online from 26.10.2026 to 26.11.2026, and you need an OTR number (One Time Registration number) before you start.
Quick Navigation
Recruitment Overview
| Field | Details |
|---|---|
| Post Name | Samiksha Adhikari; Sahayak Samiksha Adhikari; Samiksha Adhikari (Account); Sahayak Samiksha Adhikari (Account); Manager; Care-Taker; Receptionist (Swagati); Store Keeper |
| Organization | Uttar Pradesh Public Service Commission (UPPSC), for the UP Secretariat, UPPSC, Board of Revenue and Office of the Advocate General, Allahabad High Court |
| Notification / Advertisement No. | Advt. No. A-4/E-1/2026, dated 26.10.2026 |
| Location | Uttar Pradesh |
| Total Vacancies | 501 (General Recruitment 495 + Special Recruitment 6). By category: UR 246, SC 108, ST 6, OBC 97, EWS 44 |
| Qualification | Bachelor’s degree. Some posts also need an O Level computer certificate and Hindi typing (see Eligibility Criteria) |
| Age Limit | 21 to 40 years as on 01.07.2026 Check your age eligibility → |
| Selection Process | Preliminary Exam → Main (Written) Exam → Document verification and medical examination |
| Pay Scale | Level 5 to Level 8 of the Pay Matrix (a government pay grade), Rs 29,200 to Rs 1,51,100 across the scales |
| How to Apply | Online only, with an OTR number, on the UPPSC website |
| Official Notification | View Notification on UPPSC website |
| Official Website / Apply Online | uppsc.up.nic.in |
Important Dates
| Event | Date |
|---|---|
| Advertisement date | 26.10.2026 |
| Online application starts | 26.10.2026 |
| OTR number (if you do not have one yet) | Get it at least 72 hours before you submit your application |
| Last date to apply online and pay the fee in the bank | 26.11.2026 |
| Last date for correction in the application and fee reconciliation | 03.12.2026 |
| Preliminary Exam date | Not announced. The date and centre will come on your e-Admit Card |
| Main (Written) Exam date | Not announced. The Commission will inform candidates through the e-Admit Card |
If you plan to apply on the last day, start your OTR by 23.11.2026, because the 72 hours must pass before you can submit the application.
Application Fee
| Category | Fee (Preliminary Exam) |
|---|---|
| Unreserved, EWS (Economically Weaker Sections) and OBC | Rs 100 exam fee + Rs 25 online processing fee = Rs 125 |
| SC and ST | Rs 40 + Rs 25 = Rs 65 |
| Persons with disabilities (PwD) | Nil exam fee + Rs 25 = Rs 25 |
| Ex-Servicemen | Rs 40 + Rs 25 = Rs 65 |
| Dependents of Freedom Fighters, Women, Skilled Players | According to their original category |
Your application counts only after the fee reaches the bank by 26.11.2026. Candidates who clear the Preliminary Exam pay a second fee for the Main exam, shown below.
Fee for the Main Exam (only if you clear the Preliminary Exam)
| Category | Fee (Main Exam) |
|---|---|
| Unreserved, EWS, OBC and candidates of other states | Rs 200 + Rs 25 = Rs 225 |
| SC and ST of UP | Rs 80 + Rs 25 = Rs 105 |
| PH (persons with disability) of UP | Nil + Rs 25 = Rs 25 |
| Ex-Army personnel of UP | Rs 80 + Rs 25 = Rs 105 |
| Dependents of Freedom Fighters, Women, Skilled Players of UP | According to their original category |
Vacancy Details
The table below shows the post-wise and category-wise vacancies exactly as printed in the notice. The numbers in each row add up to its total.
| Post and Department | Total | UR | SC | ST | OBC | EWS |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Samiksha Adhikari, UP Secretariat | 122 | 39 | 56 | 3 | 12 | 12 |
| Samiksha Adhikari, UPPSC | 3 | 2 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Samiksha Adhikari, Board of Revenue | 6 | 4 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Samiksha Adhikari (Account), UP Secretariat | 31 | 11 | 9 | 1 | 9 | 1 |
| Sahayak Samiksha Adhikari, UP Secretariat | 261 | 153 | 26 | 1 | 55 | 26 |
| Sahayak Samiksha Adhikari, UPPSC | 21 | 11 | 2 | 0 | 7 | 1 |
| Sahayak Samiksha Adhikari, Board of Revenue | 2 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Sahayak Samiksha Adhikari, Office of the Advocate General | 45 | 20 | 9 | 1 | 11 | 4 |
| Manager, UPPSC | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Care-Taker, UPPSC | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Receptionist (Swagati), UPPSC | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Store Keeper, UPPSC | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Sahayak Samiksha Adhikari (Account), UP Secretariat (Special Recruitment) | 6 | 0 | 3 | 0 | 3 | 0 |
| Total | 501 | 246 | 108 | 6 | 97 | 44 |
UR means unreserved (general), SC and ST are Scheduled Castes and Tribes, OBC is Other Backward Classes, and EWS is Economically Weaker Sections. The first 12 rows are General Recruitment (495 posts) and the last row is Special Recruitment (6 posts).
Horizontal reservation (inside the totals above)
| Post and Department | DFF | PH | ExS | Women | Sports |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Samiksha Adhikari, UP Secretariat | 2 | 4 | 6 | 24 | 0 |
| Samiksha Adhikari, UPPSC | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Samiksha Adhikari, Board of Revenue | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 |
| Samiksha Adhikari (Account), UP Secretariat | 0 | 1 | 1 | 6 | 0 |
| Sahayak Samiksha Adhikari, UP Secretariat | 5 | 10 | 13 | 52 | 5 |
| Sahayak Samiksha Adhikari, UPPSC | 0 | 0 | 1 | 4 | 0 |
| Sahayak Samiksha Adhikari, Board of Revenue | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Sahayak Samiksha Adhikari, Office of the Advocate General | 0 | 1 | 2 | 9 | 0 |
| Manager, Care-Taker, Receptionist, Store Keeper (UPPSC) | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Sahayak Samiksha Adhikari (Account), UP Secretariat (Special) | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1 | 0 |
| Total | 7 | 16 | 23 | 97 | 5 |
DFF is dependents of freedom fighters, PH is persons with disability, ExS is ex-servicemen, Women is the women quota and Sports is outstanding sportspersons. These seats are counted inside the category figures above, not on top of them, because the category figures already add up to each total. The Commission may also add similar posts before the Preliminary Exam result, so the final number can go up or down.
Disability sub-categories notified for each post
| Post and Department | Notified sub-categories (as printed) |
|---|---|
| UP Secretariat: Samiksha Adhikari, Sahayak Samiksha Adhikari and both Account posts | L.V., H.H., C.P., L.C., Dw., B., A.A.V., M.D.Y., O.A., O.L. |
| UPPSC: Samiksha Adhikari and Sahayak Samiksha Adhikari | L.V., H.H., L.C., Dw., A.A.V., M.D.Y., O.A., O.L., M.D. |
| UPPSC: Manager, Care-Taker, Receptionist (Swagati), Store Keeper | No PH sub-category is notified for these posts |
| Board of Revenue: Samiksha Adhikari | L.V., H.H., L.C., Dw., A.A.V., O.L., M.D. |
| Board of Revenue: Sahayak Samiksha Adhikari | L.V., H.H., L.C., Dw., A.A.V., O.L. |
| Office of the Advocate General: Sahayak Samiksha Adhikari | O.A., O.L., H.H., L.C., Dw. |
The notice prints these as short codes and does not explain them. If you hold a disability certificate, check the sub-category name in the official notice before you apply. Reservation for PH candidates applies only to posts the Government has identified for them.
Eligibility Criteria
| Criterion | Detail |
|---|---|
| Educational Qualification | Bachelor’s degree from a university established by law in India, or a qualification the Government treats as equal. You must hold it by 26.11.2026. Posts with extra requirements are in the table below. |
| Age Limit | 21 to 40 years as on 01.07.2026, which means you were born between 02.07.1986 and 01.07.2005. Check your age eligibility → |
| Maximum age for PH candidates of UP | 55 years, which means born on or after 02.07.1971. |
| Who gets reservation and age relaxation | Only permanent residents of Uttar Pradesh. SC, ST, OBC, EWS, freedom fighter dependents, PH, sportspersons and ex-servicemen from other states do not get these benefits. The notice also gives a fee for candidates of other states, so it does not bar them from applying. |
| Women quota | As the Government order cited in the notice says, the women’s reservation is only for women who are original residents of Uttar Pradesh. |
| Marital status | Men with more than one living wife, and women married to a man who already has a wife, are not eligible unless the Governor has granted an exemption. |
| Final-year students | Candidates still appearing in the exam of the required qualification need not apply, as they are not eligible. |
Extra qualification needed for specific posts
| Post and Department | Qualification besides the degree |
|---|---|
| Samiksha Adhikari (UP Secretariat, UPPSC, Board of Revenue) | Bachelor’s degree only |
| Sahayak Samiksha Adhikari, UP Secretariat and Board of Revenue | O Level certificate (DOEACC, now NIELIT) or equal, and typing speed of 25 words a minute in Hindi |
| Sahayak Samiksha Adhikari, UPPSC | Diploma in Computer Science, or O Level certificate; and 25 words a minute in Hindi typing |
| Sahayak Samiksha Adhikari, Office of the Advocate General | O Level certificate from NIELIT (earlier DOEACC) or equal; and 25 words a minute Hindi typing on a computer |
| Samiksha Adhikari (Account) and Sahayak Samiksha Adhikari (Account), UP Secretariat | Bachelor’s degree in Commerce with Accountancy; O Level certificate in Computer Application; knowledge of Hindi written in Devanagari script. The notice also counts graduate-level degrees from CA or ICWA courses recognised by the Government of India as equal |
| Receptionist (Swagati), UPPSC | Bachelor’s degree with History, Geography, English Literature, Anthropology or Architecture as one subject; good knowledge of Hindi |
| Care-Taker, Manager and Store Keeper, UPPSC | Bachelor’s degree. Certain skills are only a preference (for example hotel management or cookery courses, knowledge of horticulture and accounts rules, or store-keeping experience; a Commerce graduate is preferred for Store Keeper) |
A candidate who has served at least two years in the Territorial Army, or holds an NCC ‘B’ certificate, gets preference in direct recruitment when other things are equal. For posts with specific qualifications, you must state your options clearly in the form, otherwise you are not considered for them.
Age relaxation
| Category | Relaxation |
|---|---|
| SC, ST and OBC of UP; skilled players of UP in classified games; UP state government employees, including staff of the Basic Shiksha Parishad and government-aided Madhyamik schools | 5 years (they must not be born before 02.07.1981) |
| Persons with disability (PH) of UP | 15 years (upper limit 55) |
| Emergency Commissioned and Short Service Commissioned Officers, and ex-Army personnel of UP | 3 years plus the period of service in the Army |
| Research scholars of the Chief Minister Fellowship Programme, with a completion certificate by 26.11.2026 | 1 year for 1 year of tenure, 2 years for 2 years, 3 years for 3 years or more (maximum 3). Tenure is counted as on 1 July of 2026. The notice says it applies only to scholars who reached the government-service maximum age while completing the fellowship |
Only one concession is given if you qualify for more than one, whichever suits you better. In plain terms, a 43-year-old OBC candidate of UP is eligible because the 5 extra years lift the limit to 45, while a 43-year-old with no relaxation is not.
Who Should Apply
- If you hold only a degree, you can still apply for Samiksha Adhikari, which has 131 seats across the UP Secretariat, UPPSC and Board of Revenue. The 329 Sahayak Samiksha Adhikari seats also need an O Level computer certificate and Hindi typing at 25 words a minute.
- Commerce graduates have 37 seats in the two Account posts, and these need a Commerce degree with Accountancy plus an O Level in Computer Application.
- This is a written-exam job. The notice mentions no interview, and two of the four Main papers are Hindi papers, including two essays of up to 800 and 1,200 words, so practise writing long answers in Hindi.
- Seats in the women’s column (97 in total) are for women who are original residents of Uttar Pradesh, and the same domicile rule applies to SC, ST, OBC and EWS benefits.
- If your degree result is not out by 26.11.2026, do not apply: the notice says candidates still appearing in the qualifying exam are not eligible.
Selection Process
| Stage | Details |
|---|---|
| Stage 1: Preliminary Exam | One objective paper of 200 questions: 140 in General Studies and 60 in General Hindi. Each question carries 1 mark, so the paper is 200 marks and 3 hours long. It is held at centres in various districts of UP. |
| Preliminary marking | A wrong answer costs one-third (0.33) of that question’s mark. Marking more than one answer counts as wrong. A blank answer has no penalty. Use only a black ball point pen on the OMR (answer) sheet. |
| Who moves to the Main exam | Fifteen times the number of vacancies are declared successful, which is about 7,515 candidates if the posts stay at 501. They fill another form, pay the Main exam fee and keep the same roll number. |
| Stage 2: Main (Written) Exam | Four papers of 200 marks and 3 hours each, so 800 marks in total: General Studies I, General Studies II, General Hindi and Composition, and Hindi Essay. |
| Paper 1 and Paper 2 pattern | Each paper has 20 questions: 10 short answers of 8 marks (75 words) and 10 long answers of 12 marks (125 words). |
| Paper 3 and Paper 4 pattern | Paper 3 has 8 questions, and some have an internal choice. Paper 4 has two essays: one of 80 marks (800 words) and one of 120 marks (1,200 words), one from each of two sections. |
| Final merit | The notice says selection is made on the total marks obtained in the Main (Written) Exam. It does not mention an interview. |
| Stage 3: Document verification | When the Commission asks, you send a hard copy of your online application with self-attested copies of marksheets and certificates. If you do not produce the required documents in the time given, your candidature is cancelled. |
| Stage 4: Medical examination | Selected candidates must pass the medical examination required under the rules. |
| Minimum marks | SC and ST candidates need at least 35 percent, and all other categories at least 40 percent, in the Preliminary or Main exam to be placed in the merit list. |
| Bonus marks for Chief Minister Fellowship scholars | Research scholars with a completion certificate get bonus marks in the Main exam. The Main exam is 800 marks, so the 501 to 1,000 marks row applies: 2 marks (1 year), 4 marks (2 years) or 6 marks (3 years or more). |
In short, two written exams decide this selection. The Preliminary Exam only shortlists you for the Main exam, and the final merit list comes from your Main exam marks.
Exam pattern and syllabus at a glance
| Paper | Main topics |
|---|---|
| Preliminary: General Studies (140 questions) | General Science, History of India, Indian National Movement, Indian Polity, Economy and Culture, Indian Agriculture, Commerce and Trade, Population, Ecology and Urbanisation (Indian context), World Geography and Natural Resources of India, current national and international events, General Intelligence, and special knowledge of education, culture, agriculture, industry, trade and social traditions of Uttar Pradesh |
| Preliminary: General Hindi (60 questions) | Ten questions each on opposites, correcting and framing sentences, one word for many words, words of the same use and nature, a noun defined by an adjective, and synonyms |
| Main Paper 1: General Studies I | Indian History, Art and Culture; Indian Society; Geography of India; Environment and Disaster Management; Science and Technology |
| Main Paper 2: General Studies II | Indian Polity and Constitution; Governance; Economy and Agriculture; Ethics and Integrity; Current Affairs (regional, national and international, including games and sports) |
| Main Paper 3: General Hindi and Composition | Unseen passage (title, explanation, summary); tabular summary of a government letter; official letters, office orders, circulars, memos and notices; technical terms Hindi to English and English to Hindi; idioms and proverbs; grammar, punctuation and error correction; vowels and consonants; Hindi word groups and word formation; synonyms, antonyms and one word for a phrase; general knowledge of computers |
| Main Paper 4: Hindi Essay | Section 1: science, environment and technology; the economy; agriculture, industry and trade; natural disasters. Section 2: literature and culture; social and political areas; national and international events; national development plans and projects |
The full syllabus is in Appendix 2 and Appendix 3 of the official notification.
Salary and Benefits
| Component | Detail |
|---|---|
| Pay scale printed in the notice | Rs 29,200 to Rs 64,700 (Level 5) up to Rs 47,600 to Rs 1,51,100 (Level 8) |
| Which post gets which level | Not specified in notification |
| Allowances and benefits | Not specified in notification |
In plain terms, every post here falls between Level 5 and Level 8 of the Pay Matrix, the government’s pay-grade chart, and Level 5 starts at Rs 29,200 in basic pay. The notice does not say which post sits at which level, so confirm that with the department.
How to Apply
- Get your OTR number from the Commission’s OTR portal (otr.pariksha.nic.in) at least 72 hours before you submit. Keep your registered mobile number and email handy, because the OTP (one time password) goes there.
- Open the UPPSC website, click “All Notifications / Advertisements”, find Advt. No. A-4/E-1/2026 and click Apply. Choose “Authenticate with O.T.R.”, enter your OTR number and verify with the OTP or your OTR password.
- Your personal details fill in from your OTR. Add only the essential qualification the post asks for.
- On the Applicant Dashboard, click “Submit Details” under Application Part-2 for the post you are applying to, and answer Yes or No against each preferential qualification.
- Pay the fee through SBI MOPS by net banking, card or another mode, and print the Payment Transaction Slip. If the payment fails, log in to the Candidate Dashboard and use “Pending Payment”.
- Print your final application and keep it safe. You can change your qualification details once, until 03.12.2026, from the Candidate Dashboard.
Note: Applications by any other mode are not accepted, and you must not send hard copies to the Commission at the Preliminary stage.
Documents Required
The notice does not ask you to upload documents while applying. You show these later, when the Commission asks for them.
| Document | Format / Notes |
|---|---|
| Photograph and signature | Taken from your OTR profile. The notice gives no size or format rules |
| Printout of online application and fee slip | Keep safe and produce it when the Commission asks |
| Self-attested marksheets and certificates | Proof of every education claim, sent with the Main exam application |
| High School (Class 10) certificate | The only accepted proof of date of birth, attached to the Main exam application |
| Category certificate (SC, ST, OBC) | Issued by the competent authority in the format of Appendix-1. For women, the caste certificate from the father’s side only is valid |
| EWS certificate | Income and asset certificate of the year before the year you apply |
| Disability certificate | From the prescribed medical officer or specialist, countersigned by the Chief Medical Officer, for your sub-category |
| Freedom fighter dependent certificate | From the District Magistrate in the prescribed format |
| Skilled sportsperson certificate | In the Appendix-1 format, for players of UP in recognised games |
| Chief Minister Fellowship experience certificate | In the Appendix-1 format, for scholars who claim age relaxation or bonus marks |
| No Objection Certificate (NOC) | For candidates already in Central or State government service, for the Main exam |
| Army discharge proof | Ex-Army candidates must be discharged by the last date for applications, 26.11.2026 |
Important Links
| Link | URL |
|---|---|
| Download Official Notification (PDF) | View Notification on UPPSC website |
| Apply Online / Official Website | Apply on uppsc.up.nic.in |
| OTR Registration (One Time Registration) | Register at otr.pariksha.nic.in |
| Join Telegram Channel | Join Telegram Channel |
| Join WhatsApp Channel | Join WhatsApp Channel |
Common Mistakes to Avoid
- Do not leave the OTR for the last day: you must get the number at least 72 hours before you submit the application.
- Pay the fee in the bank by 26.11.2026, because the application is accepted only after payment. If a payment fails, use “Pending Payment” on the Candidate Dashboard.
- Check your category, sub-category, domicile, gender, date of birth and name before you submit: only what you claim by the last date counts, and wrong information can cancel your candidature and bar you for up to 5 years.
- If you change anything in your OTR profile, synchronise it on the Dashboard afterwards, or the change will not be allowed.
- Print and keep your application and fee slip, and do not send hard copies at the Preliminary stage.
- On exam day use only a black ball point pen on the OMR sheet, and do not use whitener, a blade, a pin or an eraser on it.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the last date to apply for UPPSC Samiksha Adhikari 2026?
You must apply online and pay the fee by 26.11.2026, and you can correct your application until 03.12.2026.
How many vacancies are there in UPPSC Samiksha Adhikari recruitment 2026?
There are 501 vacancies: 495 in General Recruitment and 6 in Special Recruitment.
What is the qualification for UPPSC Samiksha Adhikari and Sahayak Samiksha Adhikari?
A Bachelor’s degree is the base requirement, but Sahayak posts also need an O Level computer certificate and 25 words a minute Hindi typing, and Account posts need a Commerce degree with Accountancy.
What is the age limit for UPPSC Samiksha Adhikari 2026?
You must be 21 to 40 years old on 01.07.2026, with 5 years extra for SC, ST and OBC of UP and 15 years extra for PH candidates of UP.
What is the application fee?
The Preliminary Exam fee with the online charge is Rs 125 for Unreserved, EWS and OBC, Rs 65 for SC, ST and ex-servicemen, and Rs 25 for PwD candidates.
What is an OTR number and when do I need it?
OTR is the One Time Registration number from otr.pariksha.nic.in, and you must get it at least 72 hours before you submit your application.
Is there negative marking in the UPPSC Samiksha Adhikari exam?
Yes, the Preliminary Exam takes away one-third of the marks for each wrong answer, and the final selection is made on Main exam marks.
Can candidates from other states apply?
The notice does not limit the posts to UP residents, but reservation and age relaxation are only for permanent residents of Uttar Pradesh.
Disclaimer: The information above has been compiled from the official notification for the convenience of job seekers. Candidates are advised to verify all details from the official website before applying.
- UPPSC Research Officer Interview Marks, Cut Off 2026 Out12.10.2026
- UPPSC Deputy Secretary IT Cut Off Marks 2026 Out – Check Marks till 06.10.202630.09.2026
- UPPSC Veterinary Officer Admit Card 2026 – Hall Ticket for 03.10.2026 Exam26.09.2026
- UPPSC Assistant Professor Mains Admit Card 2026 Out – Exam from 15.09.202609.09.2026
- UPPSC Lecturer and Workshop Superintendent Admit Card 2026 – Download Technical Education Hall Ticket for 06.09.2026 Exam28.08.2026
- UPPSC Research Assistant (Engineering) Admit Card 2026 – Download Hall Ticket for 08.09.2026 Exam28.08.2026






